Home backup power, sized in watts and watt-hours

Best Portable Power Station for Home Backup

A portable power station fits home backup when its watts cover everything you run at once and its watt-hours cover the hours you need. As of 2026-11-04, two units from My Patriot Supply fit two different jobs: the Grid Doctor 3300 for a refrigerator and essentials, the Grid Doctor 300 for small loads.

Disclosure: If you order through a My Patriot Supply link on this page, this site earns a commission. Your price stays the same. How we are paid.

Example loads vs rated wattsRead 2026-11-04
  • Wi-Fi router10W (example)Grid Doctor 300within its 300WGrid Doctor 3300within its 3,300W
  • CPAP machine40W (example)Grid Doctor 300within its 300WGrid Doctor 3300within its 3,300W
  • Mini refrigerator80W (example)Grid Doctor 300within its 300WGrid Doctor 3300within its 3,300W
  • Full-size refrigerator150W (example)Grid Doctor 300within its 300WGrid Doctor 3300within its 3,300W
  • Gas furnace blower400W (example)Grid Doctor 300over its 300WGrid Doctor 3300within its 3,300W
  • Sump pump (running)800W (example)Grid Doctor 300over its 300WGrid Doctor 3300within its 3,300W

Example running watts are our assumptions, not seller figures. Compare each bar with your own appliance label. Motors need extra watts to start.

How much power do you actually need?

Sizing comes down to two numbers. Watts tell you what can run at the same moment. Watt-hours tell you how long it keeps running. A unit that lists 3,300W and 2,048Wh can power a load up to 3,300W, and that load drains the 2,048Wh pack in a time you can calculate: hours = watt-hours x 0.85 / watts. The 0.85 is our planning assumption for conversion losses, not a seller figure. Without it you get the ideal ceiling, which real equipment does not reach.

The table uses example wattages that we assumed for the arithmetic. They are not sourced facts, so replace them with the numbers on your own appliance labels. Prices were read from the seller's pages on 2026-11-04: $2,997 for the 3300 and $497 for the 300, each with one solar panel.

LoadAssumed wattsGrid Doctor 3300 (2,048Wh), est. hoursGrid Doctor 300 (320Wh), est. hoursCan the 300 carry it?
Wi-Fi router10174.127.2Yes
LED lights (4 bulbs)4043.56.8Yes
CPAP machine (no humidifier)4043.56.8Yes, check your machine's label
42-inch LED TV8021.83.4Yes
Mini refrigerator8021.83.4Yes
Full-size refrigerator, average running draw15011.61.8Running watts fit, but the seller says not for full-size fridges
Gas furnace blower4004.40.7No, exceeds 300W
Sump pump, running8002.20.3No, exceeds 300W

Motors need extra power for a moment when they start. A refrigerator, sump pump or furnace blower can pull well above its running watts at start-up, so compare that burst with the 6,600W surge rating on the 3300 or the 600W rating on the 300. Our watts guide shows how to total a list of your own loads.

The two units at a glance

According to the seller's pages, the Grid Doctor 3300 delivers 3,300W continuous from a 2,048Wh LiFePO4 battery, weighs 57.2 lb and accepts up to five 200W solar panels. The Grid Doctor 300 delivers 300W from 320Wh, weighs 8.625 lb and accepts one extra 100W panel. The 3300 holds 6.4 times the energy for 6.0 times the price, and works out to $1.46 per watt-hour against $1.55 for the 300 (our arithmetic, panels included). Read the full write-ups in the Grid Doctor 3300 review and the Grid Doctor 300 review, or the side-by-side comparison.

How we judge "best"

"Best" depends on your loads, so we score against five checkable criteria instead of naming a winner. Each is rated on what we could verify: STATED means the seller's page says it plainly, NOT STATED means we found nothing, MIXED means the seller's pages disagree, and CAN'T BE CHECKED means it rests on a claim nobody independent has tested.

  1. Watts versus your loads. Do the rated watts and surge cover what you run at once?
  2. Watt-hours versus your hours. Does the capacity cover the time you need?
  3. Recharging. How does it refill: wall, solar, vehicle?
  4. Cost per watt-hour. What do you pay for each unit of stored energy?
  5. Indoor safety and stated limits. What does the seller say it will not do?
CriterionGrid Doctor 3300Grid Doctor 300
Watts and surgeSTATED: 3,300W / 6,600WSTATED: 300W / 600W
Watt-hoursSTATED: 2,048WhSTATED: 320Wh
RechargingSTATED: wall, solar to 1,000W, vehicleSTATED: wall adapter, solar to 200W, car
Cost per watt-hourSTATED price, our math $1.46STATED price, our math $1.55
Cycle lifeSTATED: 3,500 cyclesMIXED: 2,000+ in specs, 3,500 in a blurb
Expansion limitMIXED: "up to 7" in specs, "up to four" in FAQSTATED: units stack, each independent
EMP protectionCAN'T BE CHECKED: seller claim, no independent test foundNOT STATED
Safety certificationsNOT STATEDNOT STATED
Independent runtime testCAN'T BE CHECKEDCAN'T BE CHECKED

We have not used either unit, so this scorecard measures documentation, not performance. A STATED row tells you the seller printed a number; it does not tell you the number holds up in your kitchen.

What a portable power station can't do

A plug-in power station is not an entire-house system. Both Grid Doctor units power what you plug into them, and that is all.

  • 240V loads. The seller's page for the 3300 says it is not ideal where you need 240V output for large HVAC or full-home load panels. Central air, electric ranges and dryers are out.
  • A connection to the house wiring. Do not plug a power station into a wall outlet to power the house, and do not attempt panel work yourself. Use cords from the unit's own outlets to the appliances you chose.
  • Large motors on the small unit. The seller says the 300 is not designed for full-size refrigerators, microwaves, sump pumps, space heaters or HVAC.
  • Indefinite runtime. Every unit is a battery. Once the watt-hours are used, it needs sun or a wall outlet to refill. Our outage guide shows how to budget a three-day plan.

Compare categories honestly too. A gas generator makes far more continuous power, but it must run outdoors at least 20 feet from windows, doors and attached garages, per Ready.gov and the Consumer Product Safety Commission. The power station versus generator guide lays out the trade.

Pick by situation

All the guides are also listed on the guides page. View both units on My Patriot Supply's site for the seller's current prices and specs.

FAQ

What size portable power station do I need for home backup?

List the appliances you want running together and add their rated watts. That total must stay under the unit's continuous rating. Then multiply watts by the hours you want and compare with the watt-hours, remembering to allow for losses. Our estimates use 85% of the rated capacity.

Can a portable power station run my whole house?

Not the two units covered here. They are plug-in power for chosen loads. The seller says the 3300 is not ideal for 240V output or full-home load panels, so plan around essentials such as a refrigerator, router and lights.

How long will it keep a refrigerator cold?

With an assumed 150W average draw, we estimate about 11.6 hours on the 3300. The seller's FAQ says "up to 30+ hours depending on the model." Ready.gov and the FDA say a closed refrigerator holds its cold about four hours with no power, so the unit extends that window. See the refrigerator guide.

Is the EMP protection real?

My Patriot Supply says the 3300 has built-in EMP Intercept Technology. We found no independent test, so we treat it as an unverified seller claim.

Is a portable power station safe indoors?

The seller says its units are safe for indoor use because they have no combustion. Keep them ventilated while charging and use approved cables. Gas generators are different and must stay outdoors.

Are these reviews based on testing?

No. We have not used either unit. The reviews are spec-and-fit analyses built from the seller's pages, read on 2026-11-04, and arithmetic we show.

Sources

Update history

DateChange
2026-11-04First published
Affiliate linkSee Grid Doctor